International Boxing Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Inductees

IBHOF -crop

By David Martinez /

I would like to personally congratulate my friend Harold Lederman on the recent announcement of his upcoming induction into the International Boxing Hall of Fame.


He is most deserving and in a comment upon receiving his induction news he stated:  “I’m so excited. It’s one of the greatest things that has ever happened to me. I’m so proud. It’s mind boggling. It’s so important to be elected into the Hall of Fame. I think this is wonderful. I’m so happy. It’s amazing.”

Harold has been recognized by many for his outstanding work on HBO World Championship Boxing. He was inducted into the World Boxing Hall of Fame in 1997.

Harold in his career as a professional judge has worked many fights, some of which include  Roberto Duran vs. Esteban De Jesus, Emile Griffith vs. Dick Tiger, Ismael Laguna vs. Ken Buchanan, Hedgemon Lewis vs. Billy Backus, Larry Holmes vs. Mike Weaver, Alexis Arguello vs. Kevin Rooney, Ken Norton vs. Gerry Cooney, Wilfredo Gomez vs. Lupe Pintor, Larry Holmes vs. Michael Spinks, Carlos Palomino vs. Roberto Duran, and Muhammad Ali vs. Ken Norton.

You can see Harold on this website on a regular basis with his feature called “Hey Harold!” which are short videos regarding upcoming fights.

Congratulations to the entire Class of 2016 which includes Hector Camacho, Lupe Pintor, Hilario Zapata, Marc Ratner, Jerry Izenberg and Colonel Bob Sheridan; and in the Posthumous  Category, Petey Sarron, and in the Non-Participant Category, Whitey Esneault.

The Hall of Fame weekend is June 9-12, 2016 in Canastota, New York. The official enshrinement ceremony is scheduled for Sunday, June 12.

For information please call (315) 697-7095, or visit on line at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *