Heavyweight Recap!

By David Martinez / Boxing Historian

This past Saturday was the first heavyweight title unification since
Lennox Lewis (WBC) defeated Evander Holyfield (WBA/IBF) back in 1999 다운로드.
Wladimir Klitschko (IBF) won a unanimous (and one sided) decision over
Sultan Ibragimov (WBO).

Wladimir Klitschko
Wladimir Klitschko Photo by George Garcia

What amazed me in this fight was that a bigger, stronger and more
talented Klitschko was content to play a chess match and appeared tentative
throughout the 12 rounds; and he did not strive for a knockout, as trainer
Emanuel Steward had pressed for 다운로드. I personally had him winning every
round but the first, taking 11 of the 12 rounds 119-109 on points. I want
to praise HBO score keeper Harold Lederman for not scoring round
nine a 10 to 8 round for Klitschko when the ropes held up Ibragimov from
a vicious right hand 유튜브 무료 동영상 다운로드. Lederman noted that because referee Wayne Kelly
didn’t see it as a knockdown (and it was) that he would honor that call
and score it a 10 to 9 round, which was the correct call by Harold.

A common question that always seems to follow me in my travels once a
particular heavyweight championship fight has been completed, is what do
I think of the current state of heavyweights today. My answer is simple.
Regarding any of the recognized heavyweight champions of recent years, I
can name you a few past heavyweights right off the top of my head who
were never champions, but were good enough contenders in their own right
that they would not only have beaten Klitschko, but would have knocked
him out had they fought him. They would have been Jerry Quarry, Earnie
Shavers, Ron Lyle, and Gerry Cooney.

For the record, as far as I am concerned, I am an avid supporter of
unifying titles, whether it be heavyweight or otherwise. From the days
of John L. Sullivan in 1885 to Muhammad Ali in 1965, there was only one
heayweight champion. In 1965, the WBA stripped Ali of his title for
granting Sonny Liston a rematch, and it wasn’t until 22 years later in
1987 that Mike Tyson beat Tony Tucker to unifiy the title. Then, in
1992, Holyfield beat Riddick Bowe, and, as mentioned above, Lewis beat
Holyfield in 1999. Then, of course, this last Saturday, Klitschko beat

But let us not forget the WBA champion Ruslan Chagaev; and, as
as it sounds (and it is), the WBC currently has two champions in Oleg
Maskaev and Samuel Peter who also holds a belt as something called
an “interim” champion.

So, if I have left you wondering who the REAL heavyweight champion is,
don’t feel alone. I’m still trying to figure it out, too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *